Apr 13 2009
Is this a legit xs650 project bike?
- 6 Comment
Looking to buy 1st bike and want to be sure. . .
Greetings all, I’m looking to purchase my first xs650 to rebuild/bob. Now I can admit when I know nothing and motorcycles are something I know little about – but hoping to fix that over the next few months. Here are some photos of a local “project xs650″ that a local started and is selling. To me, it looks like its on a completely new frame, without much other original parts. Can you guys run this through the gauntlet and tell me if this is fishy or not? Feel free to email me directly at jason.hoenich(at)susquehanna.net and thank you in advance for considering posting this. If you guys spot obvious inconsistencies please let me know as I want to know how to spot this stuff!!!



Thanks Jason Hoenich












I say it depends on how much he wants for it and if it comes with a box of parts. I’d scoop it up though it looks like it a killer start!
I’m pretty sure I can get it for $500.
I would feel confident about what he tells you about the bike. I recognize the other bike in the picture and if it is the same owner he is/was a very standup member over at the Jockey Journal.
thanks, I’ve made a deal with him after talking with him some more – and feel very confident in making the purchase. He seems like a very stand up guy!
looks like a really good start too bad you can’t hear it start up but good luck on it.
yeah i’m pretty excited about. i’m going to do a complete rebuild so hopefully that will produce a well running motor. . . .doing the carbs this weekend